Collazos, C. A., Guerrero, L. A., Pino, J. A., Renzi, S., Klobas, J., Ortega, M., Redondo, M. A., & Bravo, C. (2007). Evaluating Collaborative Learning Processes using System-based Measurement. Educational Technology & Society, 10 (3), 257-274.


Evaluating Collaborative Learning Processes using System-based Measurement

César A. Collazos

IDIS Research Group, Department of Systems, FIET, University of Cauca, Colombia // ccollazo@unicauca.edu.co

 

Luis A. Guerrero

Department of Computer Science, Universidad de Chile, Chile // luguerre@dcc.uchile.cl

 

José A. Pino

Department of Computer Science, Universidad de Chile, Chile // jpino@dcc.uchile.cl

 

Stefano Renzi

IMQ Institute of Quantitative Methods, Bocconi University, Milano, Italy // stefano.renzi@unibocconi.it

 

Jane Klobas

UWA Business School, University of Western Australia, Australia // jane.klobas@uwa.edu.au

 

Manuel Ortega

Department of Information Technologies and Systems, University of Castilla, Spain // Manuel.Ortega@uclm.es

 

Miguel A. Redondo

Department of Information Technologies and Systems, University of Castilla, Spain // Miguel.Redondo@uclm.es

 

Crescencio Bravo

Department of Information Technologies and Systems, University of Castilla, Spain // Crescencio.Bravo@uclm.es

 

ABSTRACT: Much of the research on collaborative work focuses on the quality of the group outcome as a measure of success. There is less research on the collaboration process itself, but an understanding of the process should help to improve both the process and the outcomes of collaboration. Understanding and analyzing collaborative learning processes requires a fine-grained analysis of group interaction in the context of learning goals. Taking into account the relationships among tasks, products and collaboration this paper presents a set of measures designed to evaluate the collaborative learning process. We emphasise: direct system-based measures based on data produced by a collaborative learning system during the collaboration process, and suggest that these measures can be enhanced by also considering participants’ perceptions of the process.

Keywords: Evaluating collaborative learning processes, CSCL, Collaboration processes, Group interaction

[754 Kb]